Date: November 4, 2005, 9:30 AM -12 Noon

Location: Rutgers Law School-Newark, N.J.
123 Washington St.
Newark, NJ 07102

Directions: Building Information
Directions to Campus
Google Map for 123 Washington

Parking: You will be able to park for free in University lot 510, which is directly across from the law school facing the east side of the building on Washington Street. Please RSVP to Elaine Giordano to reserve a parking spot at (973) 353-2121.

Registration: Download the registration form (PDF). Cost: Members:$20 (including NJLA, NJSBA, ACLU); Non-Members:$30; Students: $10. Walk-ins are welcome.

Program Description

Radio frequency identification--RFID--is a new technology that uses computer microchips to track books, animals, automobiles, packages, people and anything that can carry a small microchip. For many, this is a great use of a new technology. For others, this raises serious questions of privacy. Join leaders in the field for a discussion of the pros and cons of this new and developing technology and learn how it affects you, your library and your practice. Selective Bibliography. View or hear an archive of this event through the law library's podcast.


Grayson Barber is a First Amendment litigator and privacy advocate with a solo practice in Princeton, New Jersey. She chairs the Individual Rights Section of the New Jersey State Bar Association, advises the Intellectual Freedom Subcommittee and serves on the ACLU Board.

Leslie Burger is the president elect of the American Library Association (ALA). She has been the director of the Princeton (NJ) Public Library since 1999. Leslie's Website

Barry Steinhardt is the Director of the ACLU's Program on Technology and Liberty. He was chair of the Computer Freedom and Privacy Conference.

Lee Tien is a Senior Staff Attorney with the Electronic Frontier Foundation, specializing in free speech law, including intersections with intellectual property law and privacy law.

Carol Roehrenbeck, is the Associate Dean for Information Resources at the Rutgers Law School Library. She is the chair of the Intellectual Freedom Subcommittee.